Saturday, June 27, 2009

Finding The Medium...err, Median

So, my dad kind of has a thing for picking out random movies that end up being really good; last night was one of those nights. We watched this movie called the Creatora (from '83 I believe). The movie was a little long but overall very good and had a meaning behind it.

It showed how one needs to find a balance - which is obvious but sometimes missed. In this case it was to show that a balance is needed to be found between knowing when to fight for what you believe in and when to move on; this concept (which for the professor/dr. started as fighting for what you believe in - giving your entire mind, body, and soul to something - no matter what other people say or think) was called the "Big Picture" - and could only be revealed by self-enlightenment....

Basically, the Dr./Professor spent all his spare time trying to bring his dead wife back to life by using her cells to regrow her - in a sense. The there was a lab assistant who found love. Don't want to ruin the movie so I'll just give a quick synapses of it...the boy found love and found disaster - forcing him to learn to fight - while the old man drove everyone away with his crazy antics and lost some (alive) who loved him and had to learn to move on.

So, what is to be learned from this movie? Well, my interpretation, I think that basically if you find something that you believe in it fight for it and be strong in yourself and what you believe in it. Put forth all of your effort, heart, time, soul, etc. If you do, you will acheive your goal. However, if this goal or thing is dead beat or beaten to death one must learn to move on, that life goes on. "I love her, and I will fight for her. But if she's dead, she's dead." This really seems to fit into life in general...a good mantra. Oh life lessons...adieu.

Monday, June 22, 2009

The Disappearing Measuring of Character.

So, I haven't written in awhile, but I am back (hopefully) for now. Well anyways, here is my latest random thought....p.s. new song playlist yo!

As our generation gets older, we evolve and adapt certain mannerisms:
- Going from Hey or Hi to "Yo" or "Sup"
- From "How are you" or "What are you up to" to "What's up" or "How you doing"
- Etc. -- I think you catch my drift; you know, slight manipulations here or there to make certain gestures more personal to our generation.

That thing, though, that is slowly but surely disappearing - but not totally gone - is the hand shake. It is being replaced by youth and young(er) adults with the hand slap followed by the locking of the hands (as a vague description) as the general physical hello -- mainly, of course, among guys. Though I have no problem with that way of greeting, I just wanted to throw out there that I don't think that the handshake should disappear completely. I believe that the handshake should be used for every first meeting - other than that, knock yourself out. See, a handshake does something that our present "handshake" can't do. It serves as a measurer: it measures character. Simply put, a hand shake (cliche-ly) can tell a lot about someone. A strong, firm handshake with a look in the eye can show confidence and/or maturity while weak (or maybe even still strong) but frail handshake can show insecurity and/or immaturity. It is an indicator of the person.

Let the future come, and our generation make an imprint on it, but I am just saying don't forget the past and its usefulness.